The Fate of Rabadash

In which Peridan tells Haft what happened at the luncheon

Knights’ Practice Room

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
rabadashYou stand on the chamber which serves the Knights’ Practice Room. One part is dedicated to hand to hand combat, and the rest of the area has stands for straw dummies. You can also see much of the countryside from here. On a chair near the door sits the old sergeant, Doel, who maintains the equipment. -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Equipment Room <E>

Contents: Doel, the Trainer and Straw Target.

Haft is boxing a straw target, his back to the entrance of the Practice Room.
>>> Haft swings awkwardly at Straw Target with his fist barely making contact.
The target wobbles.

Peridan comes walking into the Practice Room. Upon seeing Haft, he pauses, observing him quietly.

Frustrated with his previous attempt, Haft steps in with his left foot and clubs at the target with his right.

>>> Haft smacks Straw Target hard with his fist!
Straw flies in all directions.

Peridan grins a bit, “Nice job, Haft.” He leans against a pillar.

Haft starts upon being addressed by someone other than Doel.  He turns.  “My Lord Peridan.  Uh, thank you sir.”

Peridan lifts a hand, “I did not mean to interrupt your training.”

Haft glances at the target.  “Oh, it’s no bother.  Not really training.  Just working off extra energy.”

Peridan says, “Oh? ”

Haft shrugs.  “It’s a good place to think…or avoid thinking.  Do you ever find your thoughts move too fast and…

Haft trails off awkwardly.

Peridan laughs, “Haft, You have no idea.” He tips his head, “Anything I can help with?”

The right side of Halt’s mouth twitches upward–the nearest he usually comes to a smile.  “You’re already helping, sir.”

Peridan appraises the man in front of him, “I do what I can for my soldiers, Haft.”

You say, “I’ve seen that.”  He inclines his head.  “A man cannot ask more from his commanding officer.  But–” he waves his hand as if trying to dismiss his own problems.  “–you were going to apprize me of the matter of Prince Rabadash.”

Peridan says, “Ah Yes.” He walks over to a wall, grabbing a box, moving it over near Haft. He sits down, stroking his chin, “What do you know about the matter?” ”

Haft leans against the target, more at ease than usual.  “Not much.  I believe something happened to him at the feast, but I was not in attendance.  I was given to understand it was for the nobility and the wounded, and did not know whether my presence woould be…appropriate.”  He pauses.  “There seem to be a lot of jokes going around about the prince and a donkey…”

Peridan can’t keep a grin from crossing his face. “Ah yes. Well that is a part of the story.”He begins, “Well, it started with King Lune and a couple Lords, including myself.” He rubs the back of his neck, “We were discussing what to do with that scoundrel.”

Haft folds his arms, nodding for Peridan to continue.

Peridan says, “Well, We could not decide what to do and so my uncle decided to bring him out and talk to him.” His eyes narrow, “The Prince decided to be ungrateful and rude to the King, insulting him to his face. It was all I could do…” He cuts off, shaking his head, “Anyway, then the unthinkable happened.”

Peridan leans forward, his eyes bright, “HE showed up. The Great Lion himself.”

Haft’s face darkens at the mention of an insult to Lune, then his eyes widen.

You say, “You are in earnest?  I…regret I did not see Him then.”

Peridan nods his head, still in awe, “He just appeared among us suddenly, none of us realized it at first and then we were all silent, letting him speak.”

Haft motions for Peridan to continue.

Peridan exclaims, “The Lion gave the man three chances to repent and the man rejected it so the Lion bestowed his judgement.” He continues to lean forward, his eyes still bright, “But unlike a punishment we would dream up, the Lion turned him into a donkey!”

Haft, in the process of shifting his weight against the straw target, loses his balance at Peridan’s words and nearly falls on his rump, just catching hold of the target and bringing himself upright again.  “You’re having a laugh at my expense, Lord Peridan!”

Peridan laughs, “On my honor as a Lord and your Commanding Officer, it is the truth!” He grins, “I have never seen something like it before. But then, the Lion had mercy on him. He will be changed back into a man if he goes to the temple of whatever the god the Calormenes worship.” He shakes his head, “Then the Lion was gone.”

Haft lets out a rare true laugh, though it’s more of a bark.  “Remarkable.  And I do wish I’d seen it.  But I say, won’t that incite the Prince’s wrath further, once he is restored?  Are measures being taken to secure the borders?”

Peridan says, “I do not think it will be a problem. He will not be able to leave Tashbaan unless he wants to be turned back permanently. And I do think my uncle is taking the necessary precautions in making sure Archenland is not attacked again.”

Haft smiles at the Lion’s foresight.  “I am relieved to hear it.”

Peridan claps his hand on the man’s shoulder, “Indeed.” He stands, “Well, I will let you get back to training. Again, as always, if there is anything I can do, please let me know.”

You exclaim, “I will sir.  Good day.  And thank you for the tale!”

Peridan nods, “Anytime, Good day Haft.” He walks out of the training room.

Leave a Reply

