Why Would You Fight?

In which Haft answers a question

I lost the log, but during a conversation with Abrielle, the following question and answer came up, near as I can reconstruct from memory.  It was such a good summary of Haft’s character that I’m posting it here.

“Why would you return to fight for a country that has forsaken you?”

Haft stiffens.  “An unkind question Abrielle,” he says softly.  “But Archenland did not forsake me.  I betrayed her.  Through ignorance and disobedience.  Both are deadly, but the former is not a sin.  I know well that I have earned my stripes.  Here is my country and here is my king, whom I offered my service long ago.  I would rather die for Archenland than live anywhere else.”

Leave a Reply

