A Source of Amusement

In which Haft is not amused

Inner Ward of Anvard

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

Because a gryphon dancing with a pig is also a great source of amusement.
Because a gryphon dancing with a pig is also a great source of amusement.

You stand in the Inner Ward of Anvard. The ground is hard-packed earth, and it is open to the sky above. Wonderful aromas come wafting out from the Kitchen to the south, near the well. Huge, impressive, intricately carved doors lead to the Great Hall. Staff hurry about, in and out of their quarters, serving the Great Hall and the Council Chamber. A quieter corridor to the northeast leads to the library and schoolroom. Noble lords and ladies also pass through, walking towards their quarters seeing to other business. A guarded gatehouse to the east stands between the inner and outer wards. Two stairways line the curtain wall, climbing to the upper reaches of the castle. -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Council Chamber <N>, Northeast Hallway <NE>, Inner Gatehouse <E>, Kitchen <S>, Great Hall <SW>, Staff Quarters <W>, Infirmary <NW>, Southern Stairwell <US>, Northern Stairwell <UN>

Contents: A daughter of eve with a freckled face (Greta) and Well.

Greta is standing at the edge of the ward with a gaggle of other maids, from the group giggles can be heard along with the odd phrase like “And then she said-” and “well then he-“.

Haft enters the Inner Ward, finding a quiet place to sit and taking out a knife and a piece of soft wood, which he proceeds to carve.

The group disperses after some time as everyone returns to their various duties. Greta passes by the guardsman and gives him a wave.

Haft glances up, recognizing the woman from the day before.  He nods vaguely.

Greta stops a few feet away, “You’re the one who was doing all the sneaking and doesn’t get along with Lanisen aren’t you?”

Haft freezes mid-knife stroke and stares at her, mouth agape.  “Excuse me?”

Greta says matter-of-factly, “In the market just the other day.”

Haft scowls.  “Aye, I’m the one who was sneaking.  I fail to see how it’s your business.”

Greta looks affronted, “I was only asking.”

Haft says, “Oh, is that what you call it?  Stirring up trouble where none’s wanted.”

Greta’s eyes widen, “Stirring up trouble? I’m not! I was just asking!”

Haft looks at her, annoyed.  “And I reckon I answered.  Anything else you want to ‘just ask’?”

Greta folds her arms, her eyes narrowing, “What’s your name?”

Haft takes a steadying breath.  “Haft.  Of the guard.”

Greta says, “You’re a very rude person, I hope you realize.”

Haft stares down at the idle knife and wood, setting them aside next to him.  “Aye,” he sighs.  “I know.”

Greta seems mollified by this and unfolds her arms, “Well, at least you know.”

Haft snorts.  “And I suppose I should ask for your name back?”

Great smiles and says, “Greta.”

Haft asks, “And what do you do around here then?”

Greta says, “I’m a maid to m’lady Avery.”

Haft raises his eyebrows a bit.  “Oh, I see.”

Greta smiles brightly, “A suppose a guardsman sees all manner of things.”

“Aye,” Haft answers warily.  “That’s what we’re charged with.  Keeping an eye out.”

Greta gives him an innocent smile and rests her elbow in one hand and her chin on the other hand, “Anything interesting?”

Haft opens his mouth to respond, then closes it again.  “You’re asking the wrong man.”

Greta looks a little crestfallen, “I suppose you weren’t paying that much attention”

Haft narrows his eyes.  “I do little /but/ pay attention.  Are you baiting me child?”

Greta gives him a look of injured innocence, “Oh noooo, it’s just Chloe was telling me about a new fellow who’s proper handsome and you miight have seen him”

Haft looks utterly perplexed.  “Not really the sort of thing I watch for.”

Greta laughs at his expression, “I was teasing there, but seriously if you see let me know”

You say, “Maybe, uh, ask someone else, not on the guard.  You’ll have better success.”

Greta says, “Oh probably but seeing your expression was worth asking.”

Haft snorts.  “Nice to know I’m a source of amusement.”

Greta says, “Very much so.”

Haft releases an exasperated growl.  “Is that all?”

Greta exclaims, “Weeell I suppose so, I wouldn’t want to make you any grumpier than you already are!”

Haft says, “Child, you ain’t seen me properly grumpy.”

Greta tilts her head, “How bad could it get?”

“Bad,” Haft says flatly.

Greta folds her arms with a little frown, “Well fine, I’ll just go then I can see you don’t want to talk to me, I got stuff to do anyway.”

“Hmm, well, off with you then.”  Haft turns and picks up his knife and piece of wood, eyeing the grain.

Greta hmpfs and wanders off back into the castle.

Haft resumes his carving.

Greta walks into the kitchen from the inner ward.

Leave a Reply

