Talking to Dalia

In which Haft learns a little bit about Dalia


Outer Ward

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand in the busy outer ward of Castle Anvard, full of people seeing to the needs of king and kingdom. There are market stalls along the outer wall, bustling with merchants and shoppers. Grooms work in the stables, tending to the horses there, and you hear the occasional bark of a dog from the kennels. The sounds of hammer hitting iron rings out from the blacksmith shop. There are stairs leading to the gate towers on the northern and southern corners of the outer curtain. To the east is the outer gatehouse, and the road leading into the realm of Archenland, and to the west another gate, leading to the inner gatehouse, the inner ward, and the main keep of Anvard.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Kennels <N>, Northern Market <NE>, Outer Gatehouse <E>, Southern Market <SE>, Stables <S>, Blacksmith <SW>, Inner Gatehouse <W>, South Stair <US>, North Stair <UN>

Contents: A daughter of eve with mid-back length hair (Dalia).

Haft exits the Outer Gatehouse in his livery, heading across the ward.

Dalia is leaning against the wall  not far from the door to the inner ward taking a breath fresh air.

Haft pauses to wait as a pair of boys run across the ward in front of him.

Dalia opens her eyes, breathing in deeply and waves to Haft.

Haft catches the wave, and frowns slightly, but steps over to Dalia.  “Did you need assistance, miss?”

Dalia frowns “No… ”

Haft looks confused.  “I’m sorry, then.  Were you beckoning someone else?” He turns to look over his shoulder.

Dalia says, “If I am keeping you from your duties, I apologize. Haft, correct? My father and I met you at the taven with Eston?””

Haft says, “Oh.”  He concentrates for a moment.  “Your father was the…musician?””

Dalia nods “Yes. Yes, Indeed.”

Haft says, “I see.”  He folds his arms across his chest.  “And what brings you to Anvard today?””

Dalia points inside, “I serve Lady Astera.”

Haft says, “Ah, Lord Tyren’s wife.  I see.  You hail from Chesterton then.”

Dalia nods, “Currently, yes. And you, Master Haft? If it is not impolite to inquire?”

Haft looks taken aback.  “Me?  Oh, Zuiden, originally.  But I live in the barracks now.”

Dalia says, “I’m sorry… I’m afraid I’ve been rude now””

Dalia notices Haft’s taken aback look, say I’m sorry… I’m afraid I’ve been rude now”

Haft says, “Rude?  Not at all, Miss.  Just not used to folks asking, I guess.”

Dalia tilts her head, curious, but questioningly.

Haft says, “Uh, I mean…” He looks a little uncomfortable, but doesn’t seem to know how to elaborate.

Dalia says, “And please… Just Dalia.” She smiles”

Haft looks relieved.  “Dalia, then.  And I am Haft.”

Dalia nods, “Do you have family nearby, Haft?” She gestures outside the gates in an attempt to point to the town outside.

Haft shakes his head.  “No.  Got a sister in Chesterton.  And a brother-in-law.”

Dalia nods, “I’m afraid I did not get out to the village much….I..”

Haft says, “I haven’t been there in several years.  It seemed a good place.”

Dalia says, “The manor is a bit….overwhelming.”

Haft asks, “Is it?”

Dalia lowers her voice so it can only be heard by Haft and perhaps a few close by. “ostentatious.”

Haft says, “Heh, well, some parts of Anvard are mighty impressive.  But I never saw inside the manor, so I can’t compare…think I heard something about swans though.”

Dalia frowns, “I can’t really recall.”

Haft says, “So how long have you been in residence here?”

Dalia says, “I spent some time here before Milady and Milord took up residence at Chesterton. Now, only since the siege, I believe..”

Haft asks, “Oh.  Were you here during the siege?”

A page arrives at the door, making his way towards Dalia. “Milady Astera requests you.”

Haft says, “Well, I’ll let you go, miss.”

Dalia nods to Haft’s question, looking to the page. “Oh I’m sorry, I guess Milady is calling me.”

Haft says, “Of course.  Good day.”

Dalia nods her head. “Aslan keep you then, Master Haft.”

Haft says, “And you.”

Dalia walks west toward the inner gatehouse.

Haft walks up the north stair

Leave a Reply

