Late Delivery

In which Haft finally gets ahold of the second shirt and baby rattle he commissioned from Adeliha

Outer Ward

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand in the busy outer ward of Castle Anvard, full of people seeing to the needs of king and kingdom. There are market stalls along the outer wall, bustling with merchants and shoppers. Grooms work in the stables, tending to the horses there, and you hear the occasional bark of a dog from the kennels. The sounds of hammer hitting iron rings out from the blacksmith shop. There are stairs leading to the gate towers on the northern and southern corners of the outer curtain. To the east is the outer gatehouse, and the road leading into the realm of Archenland, and to the west another gate, leading to the inner gatehouse, the inner ward, and the main keep of Anvard.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Kennels <N>, Northern Market <NE>, Outer Gatehouse <E>, Southern Market <SE>, Stables <S>, Blacksmith <SW>, Inner Gatehouse <W>, South Stair <US>, North Stair <UN>

Adeliha comes walking toward you from the Outer Gatehouse.

Adeliha comes marching into the Ward, her dog following her. She looks absolutely livid and annoyed.

Haft steps out of the North Gate tower, wrapped in a warm cloak and his new muffler.  He starts across the ward, but almost bumps into Adeliha.  He lifts a hand to give her a wave, since she isn’t attending his face.

Adeliha scans the Ward looking for someone. As he steps out of the Tower, she makes a beeline towards me. “Haft.”

“Hello,” Haft says, facing her.  He notes her expression.  “Everything all right?”

Adeliha hrmphs, “I hope so.” She pulls a shirt and a rattle out of her satchel.

Haft’s face brightens for a moment at the sight of his purchases, then he frowns.  “Is there any reason it wouldn’t be?”

Adeliha tries to settle down, regaining her composure. “This was suppose to be delivered weeks ago. I asked a village boy to deliver it to you but he lost the originals. I started to get suspicious when you did not come by.”

Haft asks, “Suspicious?”

Kairyn slips through the outer ward, a basket on her arm.

Adeliha nods, “When you did not come by with the rest of the payment, I tracked down that boy and found out that he failed to delivered them to you.”

Haft says, “Oh!  Well, it’s no great trouble.  I’ve been by a couple of times, actually, looking for you, but I always just seemed to miss you.  Been distracted with other things, too.  Eston took off back to Carmichael, and the rattle’s no use till Lecie’s back, anyway.”  He reaches for the toy.  “May I?”

Adeliha hands them both to him.

Haft examines the toy first, giving it a small shake.  “That’s just right.  Was it very hard to make?”

Adeliha says, “It took a few tries but I got the trick of it.”

Haft holds up the gray shirt next.  “Knew I should’ve gone with the gray muffler.  Well, this is very fine, and I can finally stop wearing the rag I brought from Narnia when I need to get the brown washed.  My bunkmates have begun to joke that it stands up on its own.” He smirks.

Adeliha eyes his shirt, “Would you like me to make another one?” Her eye also scans the muffler.

Haft says, “Another shirt?  No, not just yet.  ‘Nuther pair o’ britches might not go amiss, for the same reason: makes washing easier.”  His eyes narrow for a moment as he says the word “britches” and he presses his lips together as if thinking of something else.  He shakes it away.”

Adeliha raises an eyebrow at his facial expression. “Something the matter?”

The corner of Haft’s mouth lifts slightly.  “No, just a conversation I had with a friend the other day.  Say, I found a yellow dress the other day.  Someone seemed to have left it behind after their shopping, and I couldn’t locate the owner.  Verloren wouldn’t give me anything like a reasonable price.  Know anyone who would?

Adeliha hmms, “You might check with Vinri. She sells cloth and items like that but she might dabble in selling actual dresses.”

Haft says, “Oh yes.  I’ve met her.  Might do that.  So tell me…” He folds the shirt and tucks it under his arm, then opens the pouch at his side, placing the rattle within and extracting some coins, “…how on earth did the boy manage to lose the things?””

Adeliha says, “He gave me some excuse about taking it to his house because his mother called and then forgetting about them. I don’t know if I believe him or not but I know that I will personally take things to their owners for now on.””

Haft says, “Well, I’m sorry you had to make them twice.  Here’s what I owe, and…what would you charge for a pair of britches like these?  Tan or light brown’s fine.”

Haft says, “Bit heavier wool, though, maybe.  Been chill.”

Adeliha accepts the money, giving him a once over. She names her price.

Haft hands over the full amount.  “That sounds fine.  Bout when should I expect them?”

Adeliha thinks, “In a week, I get started on them right away.”

Haft says, “Right.  Well, next time I’ll remember to come looking straightaway.”

Adeliha nods, “and I will personally deliver them.” She nods, “I’ll get started right away. Thank you for your business.”

Haft says, “Thank you for the special order.  Have a pleasant day.”

Adeliha waves, “You too.” She makes her way back to town.

Leave a Reply

