Dietary Considerations

In which Haft is longsuffering

Outer Ward

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand in the busy outer ward of Castle Anvard, full of people seeing to the needs of king and kingdom. There are market stalls along the outer wall, bustling with merchants and shoppers. Grooms work in the stables, tending to the horses there, and you hear the occasional bark of a dog from the kennels. The sounds of hammer hitting iron rings out from the blacksmith shop. There are stairs leading to the gate towers on the northern and southern corners of the outer curtain. To the east is the outer gatehouse, and the road leading into the realm of Archenland, and to the west another gate, leading to the inner gatehouse, the inner ward, and the main keep of Anvard.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Kennels <N>, Northern Market <NE>, Outer Gatehouse <E>, Southern Market <SE>, Stables <S>, Blacksmith <SW>, Inner Gatehouse <W>, South Stair <US>, North Stair <UN>

Contents: A daughter of eve with a freckled face (Greta) and A son of adam with

hunting gear (Deonyc).

Deonyc says, “Well it seems none of my messages are getting through. I was just hoping that I could get into contact with him. I guess I’ll just have to wait.”

Haft comes walking out of the North Gate Tower in his common clothes, crossing toward the Inner Gatehouse.

Greta says, “Can’t help you there”

Deonyc sighs ‘Ah too bad, well thanks for trying anyway.’

Greta tucks the parcel under one arm and puts her now free other arm on her hip, “What’s your name anyway”

Haft catches sight of Greta and Deonyc and makes a beeline to avoid them.

Deonyc asks, “Deonyc, and yours?”

But too late, she has spotted him and with a bright, innocent smile and lighthearted wave she says to Haft, “Hullo mister!” before saying to Deonyc, “I’m Greta”

Haft sighs, turning.  “Greetings Greta, Deonyc.”

Deonyc turns noticing Haft. “Hello Haft.”

Greta asks cheerfully, “On duty?”

Haft shakes his head, looking down at his plain gray shirt.  “Not for a while yet.  Why?  You need somethin’?”

Greta shakes her head, “Just wondering if you’d seen anything interesting is all”

Deonyc asks, “Possibly, could you per chances have run into Lord Dar?”

“If I had, I’d be reporting it to my superior, not yapping about it in the Outer Ward,” Haft says, a little acerbically.

Haft says, “Sorry? Oh, I haven’t seen him today, no.”

Deonyc raises his hands defensively “Was just asking.”

Greta rolls her eyes and smiles, “Interesting doesn’t have to mean bad”

Haft folds his arms across his chest.  “I saw a unicorn with sparkling purple eyes run across the ward, then go into the kitchen and kip in the storeroom.”

Greta pouts and says huffily, “Now you’re just being mean.”

Haft smirks.  “Yep.”

Deonyc asks, “I always wondered how Haft spent his free time?”

Haft scowls.  “I’m standing right here.”

Deonyc says, “Oh must have overlooked you ah.”

Deonyc says, “Sorry Haft.”

Haft narrows his eyes.

Greta tries unsuccessfully to stifle a laugh.

Haft says, “If you must know, I spend my free time practicing swordplay, keeping fit, studying, chewing on stones and devouring small children.”

Deonyc nods his head. “Sounds like normal guards work to me.”

Haft shrugs.  “You’d have to ask Megren or Perth to find out.”

Deonyc says, “I can testify that he does practice his swordwork well though.”

Greta’s eyes shine with amusement, “Not surprised at the small children thing.”

Deonyc says, “Me either.”

Haft snorts.

Deonyc says, “I really wonder what they get in the mess hall if Haft has to eat children though.”

Deonyc turns to haft and asks, “You sure you got the right job?”

Haft says, “It’s the porridge.  Bit rough on the guts.”

Haft tilts his head.  “What would you suggest?”

Deonyc asks, “I don’t know something more relaxing, a gardener maybe.What do you think Greta?”

Haft wrinkles his nose.  “A gardener.”

Greta says innocently, “Don’t know, mister, he’d probably shout at the plants and make them wither.”

Deonyc says to Greta “That’s probably true” and then to haft “Ever thought about the library? ”

Deonyc says, “Books usually don’t fuss about getting shouted at.”

Haft says, “Books are well and good, if they got something useful in them.”

Deonyc asks, “How about writing one?”

Haft says, “Well…I’ve copied down some things from the books I’ve been studying and made some notes of my own.  Not sure that’s the same as proper writing.”

Deonyc says, “Ah well maybe it’s good you’re a guard then.”

Haft nods.  “I’m good at it.  Mostly.”

Deonyc says, “Yes I’ve noticed.”

Deonyc asks, “Greta what d’you do in the castle?”

Greta says, “I’m a maid to Lady Avery.”

Haft asks, “She a good mistress?”

Greta nods and smiles, “She’s proper lovely is lady Avery”

Haft says, “Good…that’s good.”

Greta says, “She’s teaching me all letters and such.”

Deonyc says, “Ah good you can help Haft write his book then.”

Haft says, “Funny.”

Deonyc asks, “What you going to write the book on Haft?”

Haft says, “Huh?  Oh, the thing I been making notes on?  ‘Bout swordsmanship.  How to get in and win an exchange in the quickest, most effective method.  Counter-moves and defenses when necessary.”

Deonyc asks, “Make me a copy when your done with it, will you?”

Haft looks surprised.  “Uh…you’d want one?”

Greta says, “I reckon that’d make for a dull book.”

Deonyc says, “You wouldn’t understand.”

“Reckon cause it’s not you on the receiving end of the sword,” Haft says flatly.

Deonyc says, “Yes I guess ”

Deonyc says, “Um I need some new arrows. So see you around.”

Haft nods.  “I’ve got to go myself.  Excuse me.”

Deonyc waves goodbye and walks towards the northeast market.

Greta looks a little disappointed, “Bye then.”

Haft heads toward the inner ward.

Leave a Reply

