Sword vs. Bow

 In which Haft and Deonyc discuss weaponry

Outer Ward

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand in the busy outer ward of Castle Anvard, full of people seeing to the needs of king and kingdom. There are market stalls along the outer wall, bustling with merchants and shoppers. Grooms work in the stables, tending to the horses there, and you hear the occasional bark of a dog from the kennels. The sounds of hammer hitting iron rings out from the blacksmith shop. There are stairs leading to the gate towers on the northern and southern corners of the outer curtain. To the east is the outer gatehouse, and the road leading into the realm of Archenland, and to the west another gate, leading to the inner gatehouse, the inner ward, and the main keep of Anvard. -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Kennels , Northern Market , Outer Gatehouse , Southern Market , Stables , Blacksmith , Inner Gatehouse , South Stair , North Stair

Deonyc comes walking toward you from the Outer Gatehouse.

Haft sits on a pile of burlap sacks near one wall, whittling at something with a small knife.

Deonyc walks out onto the outer ward, in one hand he is carrying a small leather bag and some twine, and over his shoulder he is carrying a large leather bag full of wooden shafts. As he sees Haft he walks over and sets down the bag of shafts, “Good day Haft.”

Haft looks up.  “‘lo, Deonyc.  What brings you by?”

Deonyc points at the shafts and the small bag, “I have to bring these to Pfeilwelle, he needs them to make the arrows and im also supposed to pick up some arrowheads from Eisenarbeiter. ”

Haft asks, “You thinking of apprenticing as a fletcher now?”

Deonyc says, “Indeed.”

Haft asks, “What happened with the, uh, falconry thing?”

Deonyc says, “Oh well, I did talk to Dar, but he said the falconry thing wouldn’t work, so he said that the fletcher was looking for an assistant so I agreed to do that.”

Haft says, “So you work for Pfeilwelle now?  Guess we’ll be seeing more of you around.”

Deonyc says, “Yes I have an apprenticeship for now.”

Haft says, “Well, that’s good.  I prefer swordplay myself, but archery’s useful.”

Deonyc says, “I think they complement each other quite well.”

Haft asks, “Swordfighting and archery?”

Deonyc nods, “An archer is helpless without melee infantry, a swordsmann appreciates the cover of a good archer.”

Haft nods.  “I can agree with that.  Also a lot harder to down a hart by throwing your sword at it.”

Deonyc says, “Indeed it is, granted its also harder to block a sword blow with a bow, something I hope I will never do.”

Haft snorts.  “Hard?  I’d say nearly impossible, unless the sword’s as blunt as a wooden spoon.”

Deonyc says, “The swordsman would have to have the luck to cover the distance first, without having arrows sticking out. Chainmail isn’t the hardest to pierce with the right arrows. ”

Haft says, “Oh, I thought we were talking close quarters.  Yes, though the archer also faces the problem of running short of arrows.”

Deonyc says, “I’d rather not have to fight the swordsman in the first place.”

Haft asks, “And how will you avoid that once your arrows are spent?”

Deonyc says, “I have a knife, my odds with it aren’t the best, and its my flaying knife id rather not fight with it.”

Deonyc says, “And I think id be armed lightly compared to him.”

Haft says, “A knife in a swordfight is little use.  Unless you’re a mighty good thrower…but then, if you had aim, you might not have run out of arrows.”

Deonyc chuckles ‘I think my aim is good enough.

Haft says, “Did you have your bow at the battle?  I only remember you mentioning your sword.”

Deonyc says, “I was on the ramparts, I would have stayed there hadn’t I feared for hitting one of our men.”

Haft says, “A fair point.”  He returns to his carving.

Deonyc points to the carving,”Do you enjoy carving?”

Haft makes a face.  “I enjoy watching the slivers fall away.  But I ain’t very good at it.  Managed a spoon earlier in the year, but I’m not so sure about this.”  He holds up a small piece of wood about the size of his thumb.  Its intended form is impossible to guess.

Deonyc says, “I find it to be a nice past time, still fletchery takes a long time and I spend more time doing that now.”

Haft says, “Yeah, I imagine it would.”  He continues his work.”

Deonyc asks, “How’s it going with that troublemaker….the one who lit up his roof am I right?”

Haft scowls, looking up.  “You really that uninformed?  He disappeared that night and no one’s seen him since.”

Deonyc asks, “Oh I was just wondering if anything new came up.?”

“No,” Haft says curtly.

Deonyc says, “Alright, I think I’m going to go and get those arrowheads now. See you around I guess.”

Haft nods.  “I suppose.  Have a good day.”

Leave a Reply

