Concern

Which is slightly damp


Inner Wall Walk

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand on Anvard’s Inner Wall Walk. From here you have a view of both the Inner and Outer Wards. A cool wind ruffles your clothes. A glance down into the Outer Ward reveals the bustle of people going to and from the market stalls, or off to various duties throughout the castle. In the Inner Ward you see nobles and staff, mingling happily or going about their own business.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Toward the Trapdoor Opening <N>, Southern Watchtower <S>

Maire is leaning against the wall, looking out over the ward. Light rain falls from the sky, and her hood is drawn over head to ward off the moisture.

Haft comes up through the trapdoor opening, looking resigned.  He walks toward Perth, who has been on watch, and Perth offers a grateful smile. “All’s quiet,” he says.  “No one feels like causing trouble in the rain.”

Maire turns her head a little at the sound of voices, her hands are folded casually over the wall. She nods a greeting to the guards, her eyes passing over Haft before returning her vigilant eye to the ward once more.

Haft looks chagrined.  “Thought I was on duty in the gatehouse, but Gearn took sick.  At least it’s let up some.  Go one, get something warm in you.”

Perth nods and departs, not having to be asked twice.

Maire’s lips tip toward a smile overhearing the conversation. “Good eve, Haft.” she says, not moving from her spot.

Haft frowns slightly.  “Maire.”  He follows her gaze down into the ward.  “Something interesting?”

Maire angles a sideways glance toward Haft, “Hm? No, I’m just out enjoying the rain.” she says.

Haft wrinkles his nose.  “It’s more enjoyable from a window by a warm fire, I assure you.”

Maire shakes her head, water from her hood spraying, “Trust me, I have had enough time in doors. Besides, I like the rain.” her eyes scan the ward, lingering on the gates briefly.

Haft asks, “Watching for someone?”

Maire is quiet a moment, and she eyes him, assessing him. “Yes.” she says matter-of-factly.

Haft doesn’t waste words.  “Who?”

Maire looks away, her fingers smoothing over the rough stone wall. “I keep hoping she’ll turn up, come back.” she says quietly.

Haft glances at her.  “You don’t think it might be best if you made her less your own concern?”

Maire bites her lip, “Best for who?”

Haft watches her.  “Yourself.”

Maire looks determined, “I will be fine, it’s her I am worried about.”

Haft says, “Just make sure your concern doesn’t land you in the way of people who need to do their jobs.”

Maire eyes him, “Of course.” she releases a breath, she rubs her knee, wincing. “I won’t make that mistake again.”

Haft asks, “You hurt yourself?”

Maire’s lips twist sideways and she offers a faint smile, “My horse spooked the other day, it’s just a sprain.” she replies. “You’ve healed from your injury?”

Haft says, “I have, thank you.  Must be something in the air, the way the horses are carrying on.  You were thrown?””

Maire’s lips quirk a little at his dry humor, “Indeed something is in the air.” she shakes her head, “No, my mount took off, I decided to bail rather than risk being thrown.”

Maire adds, “I landed wrong on my knee when I jumped off.”

Haft shakes his head.  “You back in the kitchens now?”

Maire looks hesitant, “Not yet. Cook gave me a few days to spend with my family. I will return at the end of the week.”

Haft says, “I’m sure it will feel good to be back.”

Maire nods briefly, “I think so, I am a little nervous. But it will be good to stay busy.”

Haft nods quietly, his focus now wholly on the ward.

Leave a Reply

