Wanderlust

In which everybody wants to go to Narnia


East Andale

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

The lane here widens to form a square of sorts and has several carts sitting at nearby buildings. People hurry back and forth between the two busy shops. Handel’s Mercantile dominates the north half of the square, and the smaller shop, Verloren’s Found and Lost, sits to the south. There are several benches here for those waiting on shoppers and horses hitched to posts. toward the Herberg Road.

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

You can go: Handel’s Mercantile <N>, Verloren’s Lost and Found <S>, Andale <W>, Herberg Road <E>

Haft makes his way through the town, scarf pulled high up to his chin.

Deonyc leaves the mercantile shop with a cloth bag filled with some groceries,  his cloak is pulled tightly around him.

Haft heads westward in the direction of Anvard, pausing as a couple of children dash across the slushy road in front of him.

Deonyc catches one of the children, and gives him a few instructions and the cloth bag as well as a copper,  then he begins walking towards anvard at quite a brisk pace.,

Haft glances over.  “Errand?”

Deonyc shakes his head, “I just asked him to drop off my groceries at my cottage, I’ll need them later, but I’m heading towards the market.”

Haft says, “Ah”

Deonyc asks, “You?”

Haft says, “To the courier and the cobbler.  Needed a new pair of boots.”

Deonyc nods, “This is the time of year that you really need them, are the couriers reliable, I mean this time of year.

Haft shrugs.  “I’ve had mixed results with them.  There’s a new one, a lass, seems flighty.”

Deonyc says, “Ah, I don’t have to much need, well seeing as I don’t write or receive letters.”

Haft grunts.  “Then why did you ask?”

Deonyc says, “Curiosity, haven’t traveled in a while, couriers do.”

Haft asks, “Where have you traveled, then?”

Deonyc says, “In Archenland, almost everywhere,  just not recently,  winter isn’t the best time, I prefer spring for traveling. ”

Haft says, “Fair enough.”

Deonyc says, “Have you traveled much, I mean being a guard dosn’t give you all to many chances, still.”

Haft says, “More than most, I suppose.  Narnia, Chesterton.”

Deonyc asks, “That’s quite a bit, how was Narnia?”

Haft says, “Big.  Full of strange creatures.”

Deonyc says, “Huh, an adventure then.”

Haft glances at him from the corner of his eye, continuing to walk.  “If you say so.”

Deonyc matches Hafts pace, “Someday I’d like to go, I enjoy wandering and discovering new places.”

Haft says, “Everyone seems to want to visit there.  Don’t appreciate what they have.”

Deonyc turns and asks, “In which sense?”

Haft says, “I mean there’s everything a man could want here in Archenland, but all anybody seems to talk about is goin’ to Narnia.”

Deonyc says, “oh I never thought of living there, it’s true, Archenland is beautiful,  especially Coghill.”

Haft nods.  “My friend is squired to one of its lords.”

Deonyc asks, “Whom if I may ask?”

Haft asks, “Who’s my friend or who’s the lord?”

Deonyc says, “Friend,”

Haft says, “Megren, formerly of the guard.”

Deonyc says, “I think I’ve met her once, only briefly though.”

Haft says, “She’s friendly.  Bright red hair.” He glances at the sky.  “Sorry, gotta pick up my pace.  Shift soon.””

Deonyc nods, “Ill go too then, was nice chatting.”

Haft nods, then speeds up and heads swiftly toward the castle.

Leave a Reply

