The Enemy’s Niece

Andale

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

You stand in the heart of Andale where most of the folk who support Anvard

live. Young children play here on nice days, skipping rope, or shooting

marbles, and older ones can be seen reading scrolls. Adults hurry through on

their way from home to where their business takes them. A well with a stone

wall sits on the western edge of the road.

The road here widens and splits to run toward the shops to the east, North

Andale to the north and the Crossroad to the south. Short paths lead to the two

settlements here; Het Noorden to the northwest, and Zuiden to the southeast.

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

You can go: Het Noorden <NW>, North Andale <N>, East Andale <E>, Andale

Crossroad <W>, Zuiden <SE>

Sehsis says in a tole full of sarcasm, “Ah. Forgive me for existing, I forgot that merely being is a crime”

Nasrin raises an eyebrow. “Wait, what happened?”

Haft says, “An incident, though I suppose the cause thereof is open to interpretation.”

Nasrin asks, “What’s your interpretation of it all then?”

Haft glances at Sehsis. “I think I’ll let your uncle relay what he chooses.”

Nasrin pouts. “Hey, it’s no good if I can’t hear both sides of the story.”

Haft raise a brow and looks to Sehsis.

Sehsis does not seem to be about to speak.

Nasrin asks, “… No-one?”

Sehsis shakes his head, “I am not discussing this”

Haft shrugs.

Nasrin has a rather disappointed grimace. “Well, that was an interesting story.”

Haft says, “i’m sure certain people thought so”

Sehsis frowns again. He really doesn’t like this topic, not one bit.

Nasrin pouts, glancing between the two.

Haft asks, “so what brings you back to Andale, and with family?”

Sehsis simply says, “Business.”

Haft eyes the girl doubtfully. “Business.”

Nasrin has a bright smile on her face.

Sehsis shifts, clearly uncomfortable in Haft’s presense, “I will be going” To Nasrin he says, “Are you coming or?:

Nasrin shakes her head. “I can make my own way back.”

Sehsis hesitates then nods, “Very well, I shall see you later then” and with that he leaves

Haft looks after stasis, then turns to Nasrin.”He’s just going to leave you in an unfamiliar town?”

Nasrin shakes her head. “I’ve been shown around the past few days. Slowly but surely getting used to things.”

Haft asks, “Why has your uncle brought you here?”

Nasrin says, “My parents said it’d be good for me to experience other countries, and here I am.”

Haft asks, “Why does everyone I meet want to see other countries?”

Nasrin tilts her head to the side. “Is that common?”

Haft asks, “Seems to be. Doesn’t anyone feel satisfied where they are?”

Nasrin says, “I felt rather satisfied back at home, yes. ”

Haft asks, “So they sent you…why? We’re you causing trouble at home?”

She shakes her head. “Like I say, to become more worldly!”

Haft asks, “What does that mean?”

Nasrin says, “It’s a very different country up north from what I’m used to back home, so there’s all sorts of little… quirks, differences. My uncle talked about them before once or twice, but now I can really experience them.”

Haft snorts. “I can just imagine what your uncle says about our ‘quirks’.Nasrin says, “It’s nothing /too/ bad. But I’ll let him relay his thoughts to you rather than say it myself.”

She smiles.

Haft mumbles “There’s a conversation that’s likely to be pleasant.”, to Haft.

Haft mumbles “There’s a conversation that’s likely to be …”, to Haft.

Nasrin tilts her head, that curious look upon her face again. “Hm?”

Haft asks, “Nothing. I trust you’ll stay out of trouble while you’re here?”

Nasrin says, “I certainly hope so.”

Haft asks, “Glad to hear it. Where are you headed now?”

 

Nasrin says, “I’m sure you have more than enough on your plate as it is without me adding to your troubles!”

She beams, before looking on around. “I was thinking of heading to the market.”

Haft asks, “I’m sure all the guard do. Oh? And what are you looking for?”

Nasrin asks, “Nothing in particular, if I’m honest. But a little browse can’t hurt, can it?”

Haft says, “Depends on the person doing the browsing, I suppose.”

He glances back toward Zuiden. “Off with you then.”

Nasrin says, “I’ll see you later then. Have a marvellous day!”

With one last friendly smile, she makes to walk off.

Haft sighs and turns back toward the castle. “Right.”

Leave a Reply

