A Talk with Deonyc

The Narrow Gate Hall

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

The Hall of the Narrow Gate is brightly lit by a large chandelier, and by torches on the walls. A bar runs along the length of the south wall. Behind the bar stands Dranken, the Barman, polishing a glass. The wall behind him holds several bottles, and racks of glasses. There is also a menu offering drinks and food. The north wall is dominated by a cheerful stone fireplace.

The rest of the room is filled with tables and stools, in little clusters all over the scuffed wooden floor. An arch leads to the Anteroom to the south.

-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#-#

You can go: The Anteroom <S>

Deonyc is standing at the bar with a mug of ale, talking to some of the other patrons and the bar keep as well, he seems quite happy smiling and waving at others as he sees people he knows.

Haft enters the hall and pauses at the door. He looks around with a frown.

Deonyc spots Haft as he enters the hall and waves heading over, leaving the mug at the bar.

Haft looks surprised to see Deonyc waving to him. He waits in the doorway as the younger man approaches.

Deonyc walks up to haft, his expression becomes a bit more serious, but retains his cheerfull manner, “Hey Haft, how are you?”

“Fine,” Haft replies curtly. “Just looking for someone. Don’t see them, so…”

He gestures back toward the door.

Deonyc motions at the door, “Are you in a hurry to go somewhere, I would like to ask your opinion on something, but we can do that on the go as well.”

Haft asks, “Can we?”

Deonyc nods, “Yeah I wouldn’t see why not as long as we don’t walk all to quickly I think I can keep my thoughts together.”

Haft says, “Meaning you’re going to follow me home whether I want you to or not. All right then, try to keep up.”

Haft heads out the door.

 

Deonyc comes walking into the Anteroom of the Narrow Gate from the Hall.

Deonyc nods, a bit unsure but also with determination, “I Don’t think it will take that long, um… well.”

he gathers himself, “I’m thinking of joining the Castle Guard.

Deonyc simply nods, “Yeah and I thought I should talk with someone before taking it to garian, someone with experience.”

Haft’s response is half laugh and half snort. “That’s one way of putting it.”

Deonyc waits, “Well?”

Haft asks, “Well what?”

Deonyc says, ” What do you think of me possibly joining the guard.”

Haft says, “Can’t think why you’d want to.”

Deonyc says, “I doubt you care much why I would. Do you think I would be up for the task?”

Haft crosses his arms. “Of course I care why you’d want to. Why not start there?”

Deonyc sighs, “Alright, it’s because I have been traveling a lot of my life, staying a year here, helping with a harvest for a season there, and I’m thinking it is a good time to settle down, commit myself to one place, the guard is not a bad job for that, it’s a straightforward job, and everything I enjoy as a hobby is nearby.”

Haft asks, “Hobbies? Like what?”

Deonyc states quickly, “Hawking and Hunting.”

Deonyc ads, “And cooking to an extent out of necessity.”

Haft asks, “Why Anvard?”

Deonyc says, “Because it’s the place I’ve grown most comfortable with, and I think protecting it is about as best I could serve the community.”

Haft considers this. “First off, I’ll tell you that a committed guardsman doesn’t have time for hobbies. He learns how to do his job right and improves himself every day.”

Deonyc says, “I am aware of that, I’m also aware that being a guard, you lose time, but how I manage my hobbies after, If I get into the guard is my problem, I’m sure I will find a way.”

Haft says, “You do realize that being a guard means standing for hours at a time in the dead of night when it’s cold and wet? Often with no company.”

Deonyc says, “I have hunted in winter, I’m no stranger to the elements.”

Haft asks, “And you’re all right with keeping your own company?”

Deonyc says, “I am.”

Haft says, “Hmm. Well, if you want my two cents I don’t think you have the temperament for it.”

Deonyc looks suprised but not put down by Haft’s comment, “Alright, why if I may ask?”

Haft asks, “Seems like you’ve been looking for a new job ever since I’ve known you. You were some sort of woodsman, and then you wanted to be a falconer, and then you became a fletcher’s apprentice, but clearly you never finished that. Why should the guard bother training you when you’ll be gone in a year?”

Deonyc says, “Ahh, what makes you think I didn’t finish those occupations?”

Haft says, “An apprenticeship takes longer than six months, and I know for a fact that you never worked for the chief falconer.”

Deonyc says, “That is true, they wouldn’t have me there, I did work for years as an apprentice fletcher, and ever since I could walk I have learned to become a woodsman from my father and then by experience gathered on my own.”

Haft asks, “And now that you’ve finished your fletching apprenticeship, why are you not working as a journeyman?”

Deonyc says, “Because thats what I did all my youth, and honestly I don’t want to go back to that.”

Haft says, “If you find that tedious, I doubt you’ll find being a guard better.”

Deonyc says, “Nothing I haver ever done has been only sunshine and smiles, tedious work is something I have never shied away from. I’m not going to start now.”

Haft shrugs. “Do what you want then. It’s the captain’s call, not mine. But if I see you slacking on your swordsmanship, or lazing about, don’t think I won’t drag you out of your bunk every morning to help you rectify the situation.”

Deonyc nods, “Alright. I will try to get to Garian soon then, time will tell where I end up. Thank you for your… time Haft.”

Haft nods and grunts in response before heading off down the road.

Deonyc walks down the road as well towards his home.

Leave a Reply

