Astray

Outer Ward

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

You stand in the busy outer ward of Castle Anvard, full of people seeing to the needs of king and kingdom. There are market stalls along the outer wall, bustling with merchants and shoppers. Grooms work in the stables, tending to the horses there, and you hear the occasional bark of a dog from the kennels. The sounds of hammer hitting iron rings out from the blacksmith shop. There are stairs leading to the gate towers on the northern and southern corners of the outer curtain. To the east is the outer gatehouse, and the road leading into the realm of Archenland, and to the west another gate, leading to the inner gatehouse, the inner ward, and the main keep of Anvard.

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[]-[

You can go: Stables <N>, Northern Market <NE>, Outer Gatehouse <E>, Southern Market <SE>, Kennels <S>, Inner Gatehouse <W>, Blacksmith <NW>, South Stair <US>, North Stair <UN>

 

Haft stands on duty by the gate with Deonyc.

Sehsis wanders among the stalls, not really paying too much attention, just killing time.

Nessa walks up to Half “Good morning. Sorry I was so quick to judge you a few days ago

Haft raises his brows in surprise at Nessa’s approach. “Pardon?”

Nessa says, “Dalia explained that you are normally a very nice person, and not just because Dalia thinks that everyone is a nice person, and that I just so happened to meet you at an inconvenient time. I am sorry that I yelled at you. Though I do maintain that Dalia is as fine as any lady.”

Sehsis doesn’t really seem to notice Haft et al as he approaches.

Deonyc glances at the woman and then haft before turning back to his bow wich he is carefully polishing with a small cloth.

Haft doesn’t seem to know how to take this statement. He glances at Deonyc, but seems to think he’ll find no help there. “Ah, it’s behind us then. Thank you,” he says stiffly.

Nessa says, “Good, because I’d rather it not be akward every time I have to get past you to visit.”

She looks at his fellow guard. “Hello, my name is Nessa. My sister livese in the castle so I’ll probably be seeing you more”

Sehsis now notices the guards, he pointedly ignores Haft and instead offers a greeting to Deonyc

Deonyc looks up from his bow and looks back and forth between sehsis and nessa before regaining his composure, “Oh hello, im Deonyc, nice meeting you Nessa.” He nods politley in greeting to Sehsis, and greets with a friendly, “Good Day.”

Haft says, “She’s Dalia’s sister.”

Nessa says, “It’s nice to meet you as well.”

She nods in agreement with Haft. “Yes, I moved here this week and I was going to let her know that I’m setting up my stall here so she can visit it”

Haft says, “We’ll…be seeing a lot of you then.”

Nessa says, “Yes. I was hoping to speak to the seamstress sometime as well about becoming a supplyer for the castle”

Sehsis pulls a candied fig from his pouch and eats it.

Haft asks, “What’s your line?”

Nessa says, “My line? Heavy wool mostly, I do a lot of patterend fabric.”

Haft asks, “You weave?”

Nessa says, “Yes, I weave. I made the cape I’m wearing, and that one that Dalia was holding when you bumped into her”

Deonyc looks to Nessa, “Im sure that the Armourers could use heavy wool as padding and such, you need that even if you are only wearing chain.”

Sehsis walks eastward toward the gatehouse.

Nessa says, “Thank you, I’ll be sure to talk to them about it. Any work is good right now”

Madeline is currently 27 minutes idle and may not get back to you soon.

Haft eyes the cloak. “It’s nicely done.

Nessa smiles and turns a little to show the fabric “It’s one of the first paterns I designed myselfDeonyc looks over the desing and nods in approval, “If I wouldn’t already have a good cloak id even consider getting one like that.”

Nessa says, “And I would try to sell you one, but I know the value of using what you have for as long as you can”

Deonyc turns to haft, “You want to get a bite to eat, I can check wich of the vendors are around.”

Haft frowns. “I’m still on duty.”

Deonyc nods, “Me too I was thinking i could run off quick and get something to eat here, or we could get one of the kids around here to go?”

Nessa exclaims, “It was nice meeting you gentlemen, but I need to go and get to my work. Have a good day!”

Nessa walks eastward toward the gatehouse.

Haft says, “Or you could ignore your stomach, stop fiddling with that bow and do what you’re paid for.”

Deonyc turns to haft, “They pay me to fiddle with my bow.”

Sehsis comes walking toward you from the Outer Gatehouse.

Haft sighs. “Do you see me sharpening my sword on duty?”

Deonyc shrugs, “Then again sharpening a sword requires concentration, polishing a bow not so much.”

Sehsis walks into the ward, taking a look around as though looking for something.

Haft mutters something under his breath.

Haft mumbles “It’s fine if you’re confident you can walk and think at the same time.”, to Haft.

Haft mumbles “It’s … … … confident you … … … … … the same …”, to Haft.

Deonyc shrugs, and puts away the cloth and straps the bow on the quiver, “Soo that’s Dalia’s sister.”

Sehsis spots the guards and walks over to them, after briefly glancing over at Haft he instead speaks to Deonyc, “Deonyc, Good day… By any chance have you seen Nasrin anywhere”

Haft says, “That’s right.”

He turns to Sehsis. “No.”

Deonyc says, “No, sorry I haven’t seen her anywhere in the market today.”

Sehsis pointedly ignores Haft, instead he keeps speaking to Deonyc, “Ah how irritating. This is getting beyond absurd”

Haft asks, “Misplaced her?”

Sehsis says, “Misplaced? You have a strange way of thinking.”

Deonyc says, “I’m sorry nothing much I can help you with at the moment.”

Sehsis says, “Ah, well. Never mind.”

Haft asks, “Do I? She’s either lost, stolen, or strayed, isn’t she?”

Deonyc nods, “Good luck finding her then, ill pass on that your looking for her if I see her.”

Sehsis says, “Thank you, that would be appreciated”

Haft says, “Not that knowing a guardian was looking has ever encouraged any young lady to hasten homeward.”

Sehsis says with a shrug, “Oh yes, I’m sure you know all about the habits of young ladies.”

Haft crosses his arms and looks smug. “I largely raised my little sister.”

Sehsis says dryly, “Congratulations”

Haft smiles tightly. “We both survived.”

Sehsis says in that same monotone, “By the gods, i am impressed, truly you have accomplished a great feat; survival, however did you manage it”

Deonyc goes and checks a wagon with goods before letting it pass.

Haft frowns. “Perfectly well, to be frank. She has a responsible husband and three fine children.”

Sehsis says, “I’m sure you had -so much- to do with that.”

Haft narrows his eyes. “I made sure she had a husband worthy of her. I’m sure to hear Jorgen tell it, winning my approval was no mean feat.

Haft asks, “Where are you staying, if she’s found?”

Sehsis asks, “Hm?”

Haft says, “I suppose you want her to run along to your lodgings, but if something has happened we’d need to know where you’re staying in order to inform you.”

Sehsis says, “I just need to tell her some important information.”

Haft says, “I meant if something has happened to /her./”

Sehsis says, “No. Nothing. I just cannot find it.”

Haft looks exasperated. “Find what?”

Haft asks, “Amd she’s been missing how long?”

Sehsis says, “She’s not missing, she’s doing this deliberately.”

Haft’s brows lift into his hairline, then retract. He seems to be having difficulty keeping his mouth in a straight line.

Sehsis stares impassively. His default expression when trying not to show any expression.

Haft says, “Imagine that.”

Sehsis says, “Hm.”

Haft asks, “You, uh, getting ready to head back to Calormen or something?”

Sehsis says, “Yes.”

Haft asks, “And…she doesn’t want to go?”

Sehsis shrugs.

Haft asks, “Well, this should be interesting. What would she do if she stays?”

Sehsis says, “That will not happen.”

Haft looks doubtful. “How many girls of your own do you have?

Sehsis says, “None.”

Haft says, “Yeah, as I was saying. Interesting.”

Sehsis asks, “How so?”

Haft says, “Young women can be fairly strong-willed when they know their minds.”

Haft says, “And downright irritating.”

Sehsis gives a brief grimace, it’s over quickly and he just says, “Really now.”

Haft says, “I imagine you’ll find out for yourself. If you find her.”

Deonyc turns to the two, “Soo how long has nasrin been missing?

Sehsis says, “She’s not missing. I just don’t know where she is.”

Deonyc asks, “Thats the same thing, how long has she been away then?”

Haft smirks. “No, you’re missing a subtle distinction, Deonyc.”

Haft says, “She’s not missing. She’s hiding.”

Deonyc shrugs, alright, “How long has she been hiding then?”

Sehsis says, “Midday”

Deonyc says, “So not all that long really, what is the worry then.”

Sehsis says slowly, “There is no worry, I just need to impart important information”

Haft scans the crowd.

Nasrin comes walking toward you from the Outer Gatehouse.

Nasrin wanders amongst the crowd, dressed in a fairly low-key and dark red dress for the day. She weaves in and out of the townspeople, before stopping to buy herself a quick sandwich. No sooner than that is she off again, strolling along.

Haft’s eye twitches slightly as he looks over the crowd, but if he sees anything unusual he makes no comment.

Sehsis looks around too, possibly to avoid being drawn into more conversation with haft or possibly to continue his search. As he looks over at a sandwich stall he catches a glimpse of red vanish into the crowd!

Deonyc glances at the two and then also looks around, but doesn’t catch anything unusual, he isn’t looking very hard either.

Nasrin munches on her sandwhich, taking in the beautiful day as she unknowingly nears the trio.

Sehsis now is sure that it’s her and walks over, “Nasrin.”

Haft follows with his eyes and presses his lips together.

Nasrin says, “tugs a hair-covering around her head a little tighter, before speaking. “Oh, hello there, young man.”

Deonyc turns to haft, “Why do you think Nas is “hiding” away?”

Nasrin exclaims, “Oh, you must be mistaken my good sir – why, I’m Nasira!”

Haft says, “Do you have wool between your ears? He said so. Besides…”

He nods in the direction of Nasrin and Sehsis.”

Sehsis says, “That… That is the worst attempt at hiding your name I have ever heard. Ever.”

Deonyc smiles as he watches the scene unfold.

Nasrin gives Sehsis a bemused smile indeed from under her hair-covering. “I’m sorry, sir? Why would I try and hide my name…?”

Sehsis sighs, “Nasrin enough of this”

Nasrin cants her head to the side. “Enough of what?”

Sehsis says in a sterner voice, “Nasrin enough. I need to tell you that at the end of this week we’re returning to Calormen”

Nasrin hands her sandwich to Sehsis as he speaks, and promptly speeds off.

Sehsis finds himself with a sandwich in his hand. He blinks in bemusement, “What..? Nasrin!”

He would try and persue her through the crowd

Haft frowns. “This could get unpleasant.”

Nasrin dashes, trying to blend within the crowd!

Deonyc looks to haft unsure what to do, and decides to just stand and straigten up at his post.

Sehsis tries to follow her, “Nasrin you can’t just run! You have to go back eventually”

Nasrin does run however, stopping only to avoid crashing into an cart in her way. She tries to sidestep around it, but by now Sehsis would have caught up.

Sehsis does indeed catch up, and he moves in front to block her path, “Nasrin. Why are you doing this?”

Nasrin blinks, before giving an innocent smile. “Oh hello there, uncle!”

Sehsis folds his arms, “Are you ready to stop this foolishness”

Nasrin asks, “What foolishness?”

Sehsis asks, “This… Look, why are you so reluctant to return home?”

Nasrin asks, “Why are you chasing me?”

Sehsis says, “Because I need to know that you will return, I cannot just leave you here.”

Nasrin says, “Certainly, you could leave me here. I’m old enough.”

Sehsis says, “Absolutley not. Your parents would kill me.”

Haft mumbles “We should be so lucky”, to Haft.

You mumble “We should be so lucky”, to Haft.

Haft mumbles “… … be … …”, to Haft.

Sehsis shakes his head, “And how exactly would that be kept hidden? As soon as it was discovered I was back they would want to see you”

Nasrin narrows her eyes slightly, before she shakes her head. “May I go?”

Sehsis asks, “Not until you explain why you do not wish to go back?”

Nasrin stares up at Sehsis momentarily before saying, “I’m afraid I’ve been ill recently.”

Sehsis says, “You have not mentioned it or shown any signs”

Nasrin says, “I thought it would pass, but it seems to be getting worse.”

Sehsis says, “That does not explain the fleeing. And foolishness.”

Nasrin says, “It was an instinctual reaction to being suddenly chased, and my parents have always said I was foolish.”

Sehsis sighs, “The ship sails on friday, even if you are ill you should be well enough to travel by then”

Nasrin says, “Hopefully…”

Deonyc turns to haft, “My shift is over, I ll send your relief over soon.”

Deonyc walks up the north stair.

Haft says, “Sure.”

 

Leave a Reply

